Fasting and Bikram/Hot Yoga

This topic contains 6 replies, has 6 voices, and was last updated by  Jetmechanic 5 years, 6 months ago.

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)

• Wondering if anyone has any experience of fasting on days when they practice Bikram/Hot Yoga. I am finding it difficult fitting in the fast days and Bikram yoga days as I have not wanted to do both on the same day. I worry that I might pass out if I have only taken in 200 odd calories leading up to the class. I also cycle to and from work before doing Bikram so it would involve a 10 mile cycle as well as Bikram. I currently don’t struggle cycling home from work on a fasting day but I think that Bikram on top of this may push me over the edge!
    If anyone has any experience please let me know.

Thanks!

Hi, I dont do Yoga. But I know that Hot Yoga is pretty intense. However I’ve been doing exercise and 5:2 for about 18 months and I’m pretty used to how my body reacts.

I fast on Mondays and Thursdays. I do kettlebell classes on Mondays, and “primal circuits” on Wednesdays and Fridays. According to my heart monitor watch, all of these burn over 600 cals for me and more if I decide to jog the 1.3miles to the gym and back. The weird thing is that the easiest session is the Monday one, despite being equally intense. I tend to eat nothing during the day, and a reasonable meal after training. I can be pretty hungry before heading to the gym, but actually feel LESS hungry after the exercise and dont gorge myself after. When doing exactly the same workout on a Wednesday – having eaten during the day, I can actually feel less energetic during the class. Although not a scientific comparison, I know how many reps I do, and what weights etc and I’m sure I do better on a fast day. Having said that, on a fast day, the run home is definitely more of a struggle.