Diet on non fast days?

Welcome to The Fast Diet The official Fast forums Body Weight loss
Diet on non fast days?

This topic contains 6 replies, has 4 voices, and was last updated by  atlantaguy67 1 year, 1 month ago.

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)

• Is it helpful to restrict calorie intake on non-fast days? I’ve lost a kilo a week for my first 2 weeks by fasting 2 days and taking around 1250 calories on 4 days and around 1800 calories (my keep myself sane treat day) on one day. This week – 300 grams loss! Disappointment to put it mildly especially as I really have stuck to the 1250cals. Anybody else found this helpful, or is it possible it could actually hinder weight loss long term????

Hi Boris1,

With just one minor reservation I would say absolutely do NOT, NOT, NOT count calories on your NFDs. I’ve been doing 5:2 for over 7 years now and the fact that I only have to worry about what I eat on the FDs is what has kept me going for so long and is definitely what makes it a long term plan for success. (Still 30lb/13.6kg lower than when I started with an average BMI over the last 6 years of 23.)

(My minor reservation is that if you were somebody who was obviously over-eating on NFDs to compensate for the FDs then you might need to look at what you eat on the NFDs – but from what you have said that obviously is NOT the case at all.)

Unlike many people I weight myself everyday and I’ve had times when I seem to have put weight back on after a FD, instead of losing it. The key thing is the long term pattern, not what happens from one day to another or even from one week to another. Due to the complex way the body processes food and drink and the inherent timescale for everything you consume to be processed and excreted there is bound to be variability, which probably can look more extreme if you are only weighing weekly. I know my weight is hardly ever the same 2 days in a row (measured to the nearest 0.1kg).