Calorie intake on non-fast days

Welcome to The Fast Diet The official Fast forums Body Weight loss
Calorie intake on non-fast days

This topic contains 6 replies, has 3 voices, and was last updated by  LJoyce 7 years ago.

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)

• Hi,
    I am new to this…my TDEE is 1689 calories/day. But it states that this number reflects what you should take in to mainain your weight. How do I then calculate how much to consume if I want to lose weight? I am a bit confuse about that. It means that I am still measuring and focused on dieting on my non-fast days. I am thinking of just having a reasonable amount less of calories every day and forget about the fasting. I had several hypoglycemic episodes yesterday (my first fast day) and I do not want to go through that again. I was not hungry, however. Thanks for any help with this!
    Female, age 45, 5’7″, 161 lbs

First, the benefit of fasting is that it avoids having your body adapt to the calorie restriction by severely reducing your TDEE. That is why “traditional” caloric restrictive diets fail, which is what will likely happen if you simply drop your fast days.
    On non fast days eat close to your TDEE, or under if not hungry, over if there is a special occasion. Over time the calories will balance out & the 2 fast days ensure that your weekly caloric intake is less that your weekly expenditure – after a few weeks of keeping an eye on it you get a feel for what’s appropriate. You will likely also find that your tastes change & everything gets easier.
    Fast days may take a while to get used to. A low carb diet on those days may help avoid issues caused by insulin spikes. I avoid carbs on FDs – typical meals are boiled eggs breakfast, tuna with salad evening (or straight Greek salad) & possibly a fruit for a snack if I need it. I find that 2 eggs keeps me satisfied until dinner time, hydrating/drinking water, tea, coffee also helps. Experiment & see what works for you,