ADF FASTING and Athletics

This topic contains 6 replies, has 2 voices, and was last updated by  michelemm1 6 years ago.

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)

• Hi everyone,

I have been posting in the April challenge, but I think I belong over here. I am an athlete and workout 6-7 days with intense cardio and weight training. My degree is in Exercise psychology ( sports). Anyhow, I am keto, pretty much zero carb, celiac, butter only for dairy, and I just completed my first 4 day fast last week. So, that has now been a huge epiphany to me that I want to continue ADF (alternate day fasting) while I remain fit and healthy. I hope to join in and post with you all. Everytime I try ADF, I tend to fail and give into my OMAD. Well, not this time!!! It feels right to go on with this.

Has anyone seen a huge difference in athletic performance during this plan? Also, do you tend to lean towards a keto lifestyle? Thanks again for your support, much needed until I get this under control.

I am banking on my bacon and butter to keep me going! and my water of course.

When I first started working out fasted I felt like I didn’t have any high end, sprits were hard. After a few months those feelings went away and now I prefer working out fasted and generally my performance is better. I don’t feel like I’m doing as much fasted and it also feels easier, however in the end I’ve worked harder than I generally do in a fed workout.

Long term though I have a lot of doubts about ketogenic diets. Too much fats and people tend to way over consume protein. There are questions about how safe that really is. I don’t have issues with ketosis, just concerns over ketogenic diets.

Hi

Thanks for sharing your thoughts. Yes, I agree on the the keto diet in general. I watch protein and fats work for me, but that is for me. Everyone is so different.

I love working out in a fasted state. I feel much better. Glad you have adjusted.