This topic contains 6 replies, has 4 voices, and was last updated by  PreciousBooBoo 10 years, 7 months ago.

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)

• Hi I’m a total newbie, I have never joined a forum and up until 5 weeks ago I had never tried any diets. I am a woman of a certain age (46), who could do with shedding a couple of stone. I was drawn to this lifestyle for the health benefits, the weight loss is an added bonus, which is good because in 5 weeks I have lost no weight. I feel great, the fast days are not too difficult, and I have started to exercise more, so hopefully I will see the weight start to shift in the coming weeks (fingers crossed!).

Hello Stedmange – Welcome

You have probably already done this but have a fair look back at other posts and you will find any number with little or no weight loss; however you will also find that clothes are looser or fit better. Also when upping the exercise quota; muscle weighs more than fat. Other people measured themselves all over at the start; so they can chart ever decreasing inches (in old money….).

There are a fair number of posts by ‘ladies of a certain age’ giving their experiences of the 5:2 and it is so helpful because you know you are not alone if the weight isn’t dropping off quickly and easily.

Someone posted that they only got weighed once a month and this was preferable to being disappointed if the scales don’t change and you’ve tried really hard.

I’m interested in the fact that you ‘feel great’ – how did you feel before?

Hi thanks for the advice, at the moment I am weighing in at the start of each week, so I might try every 2 weeks to reduce the disappointment. I don’t know if I feel great because of the fasting or because I am taking control and doing something for me, which as a busy Mum with a full-time job is rare 😀

Hi Everyone, would you all please do me a favour and stop saying that muscle ways more than fat, it is physically impossible.