This topic contains 8 replies, has 4 voices, and was last updated by  Merryme 6 years, 3 months ago.

Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)

• Hi everyboday, Assalamou alaykoum

My name is Suzanne. I am 43 years old. I am French Canadian. I am a political scientist and a translator. I live in Egypt right now. I a married and I have 3 children.

I convert to Islam when i was 25 years old and since then i am interested about fasting. Because of scientific evidences, I am very convince that it is good for the health, but so far, i did not feel it. I do not have any disease alhamdoulillah (glory be to Allah), but i do not have energy.

Of course i fast the entire month of Ramadan and some of the voluntary fast recommended by the religion, but it is not enough to makes me healthy, my blood work shows that my cholesterol is going higher every years and my blood sugar also, although i am still in the normal rage.

When i heard about intermittent fasting 5:2, I remembered the words of the Prophet Mohamed (SAWS) you recommended us to fast two days a week and said to us ‘Fast and you will be healthy’, that is why i decide to give a try to the fast diet, with some minor modifications to adjust it to my faith.

So, I will be fasting like everybody 36 hours, 2 time a week, eating 500 calories, but i will be also fasting completely, without water, from dawn to sunset in cha Allah. A minor adjustment to enter a muslim fast into the fast diet program.

I will keep you informed in cha Allah (If Allah wants) about the progress and i hope that my participation to this forum will be useful to everybody.
    Excuse my English, i am French.

Best regards,
    Ma salama
    Suzanne Oum Ayoub (which means: the mother of Ayoub)