getting ready to get started; half-&-half in my coffee :-(

Welcome to The Fast Diet The official Fast forums Welcome to The Fast Diet and Exercise forums
getting ready to get started; half-&-half in my coffee :-(

This topic contains 10 replies, has 9 voices, and was last updated by  alex45674 10 years, 8 months ago.

Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)

• I’ve never tried a diet (or eating plan) before because I never before saw one that I thought would work for me, but this looks like it could. I gained 50 lbs. (I’m a “U.S. person”) 15 years ago when I got very sick, was able to take off 30 of those lbs. with increased activity and portion control, but since then, I can take off about a pound every 6 weeks if I stay hungry basically *all the time*, but 5 lbs. lost that way goes right back on again if I stop paying constant attention. I have multiple medical problems and can only increase my activity level a bit. So this looks like a good strategy for me.

My quandary at the moment is half-and-half in my coffee. I used to love black coffee, but now my stomach rebels forcefully if I drink it black, even if it’s iced. Milk doesn’t work, I seem to need the fat in the half-and-half. And, in order to feel alert enough to drive safely, I need to drink rather a lot of coffee (at least 24 oz.), and in order to drink the coffee, I need to put rather a lot of half and half in it (3 tbsp., 60 calories, per 12 oz. serving), which is a whopping 120 calories from half and half at breakfast on work days (and, unfortunately, walking or taking public transportation to work is not feasible). So I guess my fasting days should be non-work days unless and until I can work out another strategy for AM caffeine administration. Maybe substitute caffeine tablets for some of the coffee? Tea is great but not enough caffeine to get me alert enough to drive.

Does anyone else have this problem? Any other ideas?