Feeling nervous about starting

This topic contains 2 replies, has 3 voices, and was last updated by  fasting_me 5 years, 11 months ago.

Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)

• Hello from Liverpool UK, I will welcome any tips on what to expect on the first day. I have no experience counting calories so don’t know if I will get it right.

Hi Treasure, I was so nervous the first day too.
    My tips are:
    Work out those 500 (or whatever) calories: what you will eat and when you will eat it, so you have a plan to stick to.
    Don’t forget to drink plenty of water.
    Remember it is just one day.

Hope you are like me and feel great at the end of the day, and even better the next morning. Good wishes.

Welcome to Fasting, Treasure Quilt. Here are some ideas for you:
    >> Plan ahead. We write on the calendar what Fast meals we want to eat in a week. Nothing ruins a diet like coming home and having no idea what to eat for dinner. That’s when the default foods come out [carry-out or pizza]. You can avoid that by planning.
    >> Prep ahead. This is a real time-saver in the morning. Want your spouse to help you to stay on the diet when you get home late? Write out the recipe, leave it on the counter, include info about where to find ingredients, and maybe the meal will be in progress when you come through the door.
    >> Shop ahead. Now that you know what you want to eat, have the ingredients on hand. When Fast Day comes, you want to be ready.
    >> Portion as you shop. The recipe calls for 4 oz chicken breast, so when you get home, cut the chicken into the correct size. Wrap and label the part you need, save the trimmings for another use such as Chicken Curry or Chicken Noodle Soup. The same goes for vegetables: slice and chop those 2 oz of bell pepper that you will need. It takes moments to do this as you unload the groceries, so do it to save time later.