Fatfingers

This topic contains 15 replies, has 9 voices, and was last updated by  FatFingers 6 years ago.

Viewing 16 posts - 1 through 16 (of 16 total)

• Hello, I’m Fatfingers and I’m a newbie!

I started the 5:2 approach to eating about 7 weeks ago, and have lost nearly a stone so far, even managing a small loss over the festive period. It has been fantastic!

Some information about me: I’m female, 57, just over 5’7″ tall, and now weigh 13st 3lb (I started off at 14st 2lb). My experience so far is that it’s been easier to complete a fasting day than I’d expected. On my non-fasting days, I find I naturally gravitate towards healthier food and smaller portions, mainly because I dread the thought of undoing all the good work done on the fasting days! However I have allowed myself the odd treat now and again on the non-fasting days – a slice of chocolate cake, a glass of wine, and once (whisper it) 2 pints of lager with a curry – but that was a one-off!

Now, I just have 2 questions which I’m hoping you can help me with, please. Firstly, I wonder what should my target weight/BMI should be? I have (I think) an exceptionally large frame – my wrist measures 7.5″ and I take a UK size 9.5 shoe. My head and hands are so large that I cannot find ladies’ hats and gloves to fit me. My knees measure 17″, my neck is 14.5″, my thighs are 25″ and my waist is 36″. As I mentioned in my profile, I’d like to be able to wear my wedding and eternity rings again. I clearly have a way to go yet on the 5:2 programme, but I wonder what I should be aiming for?

Secondly, I wonder if there are any self-help groups in my area that focus on the 5:2 philosophy that I could join, or how do I go about starting one? The ones I see advertised (and recommended by my GP surgery) are the large, branded, corporate ones that don’t appeal to me (you know who I’m talking about!). I feel it would be helpful to join in with a local group that meets face-to-face.