Fast day meal ideas

This topic contains 5 replies, has 4 voices, and was last updated by  Stef. 10 years, 3 months ago.

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)

• Hi everyone, im new to 5:2 after spending a long time reading up on the ins and outs.
    First fast day on Wednesday went well and wasn’t nearly as tough as i had anticipated:)

I was wondering if anyone would be so kind as to share with me their typical fast day meal plan to give me some ideas of good ways of playing with the 500 allowance.

Apologies if there is already a section or post for this but this is my first time using a forum so i am a little green lol!

Sarah

I’m only 4 weeks in, so others may have better suggestions. The first week I tried having 100 cals for breakfast(all protein), 150 for lunch (100 protein & 50 veg) and 250 for dinner (180-200 in protein & the rest veg), however I just couldn’t sleep – not because I felt hungry.

I don’t cope well at work if I don’t get sleep, so since then I’ve had a black coffee for breakfast and lunch @1pm is a small serve of ham or chicken or turkey & a steam-bag serving of green veg. For dinner @8pm I pretty much have the same & switch it around. I have to admit that I buy pre-measured portions those 2 days a week just to make portion control not an issue. It works for me and I’m not bored cos it’s only 2 days.

I make sure I get a big bottle of sparkling mineral water each fast day – and add lime juice sometimes for variety. I stocked up on herbal teas and don’t tend to drink them on normal days.

I’ve always felt better on less starches, and instead more protein & carbs from fruit & veg.

Aria, is your method of splitting the 500 calories working? How many hours have you been fasting for?

Thanks for the reply 🙂
    just trying to figure out the foods that fill you up for the least amount of calories.