Cals v kcals

This topic contains 5 replies, has 4 voices, and was last updated by  jcurt 10 years, 9 months ago.

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)

• Calories and kilocalories are used interchangeably – which cannot be right. I am a retired engineer and careful use of units has been a way of life. Comparison of calorie counts in The Fast Diet book which shows calories in the menu plans but the tables at the back are in kcals. Compare individual items and you get the same number per 100g. Can a man, eat up to 600 cals or 600 kcals (= 600,000 cals) on a fasting day?

The name calorie is used for two units of energy.

The small calorie or gram calorie (symbol: cal) is the approximate amount of energy needed to raise the temperature of one gram of water by one degree Celsius.[1]
    The large calorie, kilogram calorie, dietary calorie, nutritionist’s calorie or food calorie (symbol: Cal, equiv: kcal), which is the amount of energy needed to raise the temperature of one kilogram of water by one degree Celsius. The large calorie is thus equal to 1000 small calories or one kilocalorie (symbol: kcal).[1]

Hope this helps explain it. They are interchangable.

Take an example from the book. Page 145: 120g canned tuna = 119 calories (lower case “c”) ie 100g = 100 calories.. Page 195:100g tuna (canned) = 108 kcals. Ignore the 8 then 100 cals = 100 kcals. But 1 kcal is 1000 calories. Therefore one of the units is wrong.

The small calorie or gram calorie (symbol: cal) is the approximate amount of energy needed to raise the temperature of one gram of water by one degree Celsius.[1]
    The large calorie, kilogram calorie, dietary calorie, nutritionist’s calorie or food calorie (symbol: Cal, equiv: kcal), which is the amount of energy needed to raise the temperature of one kilogram of water by one degree Celsius. The large calorie is thus equal to 1000 small calories or one kilocalorie (symbol: kcal).[1]