6th week in

This topic contains 5 replies, has 6 voices, and was last updated by  tickatape 10 years, 8 months ago.

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)

• Hi from Seattle, Washington. (that’s the other Washington, in the Pacific Northwest)
    Very happy to be having some success with 5:2. At the end of my 6th week I’ve lost about 7 lbs. Not spectacular but steady, and great since I’ve been trying to lose weight for about 20 years with limited success. I have about 35 total to lose.
    Ironically I’m a nurse, and part of my job is counselling people in weight loss. I’m not allowed to recommend diets that aren’t “evidence-based” however, so can’t mention 5:2 although I know it works. We can only mention things like South Beach, Mediterranean diet etc. But if someone brings it up, I can encourage them.
    No change in waist measurement yet, but I hope that will come eventually.
    I don’t see how so many of you are able to fast all day and only eat once in the evening. Since I work, I have to be alert during the day, and fasting makes my brain fuzzy. So I eat a 200-250 cal breakfast, then around 3 PM another 250 or 300 cals, then nothing til breakfast the next morning. I think a key ingredient in success is avoiding starchy foods as much as possible – very little bread, pasta, potatoes or rice for me. I don’t count calories, have neither the time nor available brainpower for it.
    I love this forum and all the support available.

Hi!
    I work too but find myself much more alert when I’m empty. Plus if I eat breakfast I’m hungry again very soon afterwards and start obsessing about food, then feel like a smoker who only allows themselves three ciggies a day desperately waiting for the next one. I’d much rather know that food isn’t an option AT ALL for the day and then enjoy a lovely meal in the evening. I also get so much more done!
    Good luck and well done so far. Seven pounds is so much nicer off than on!