5:2 Day 1 – A lifetime of indulgence

This topic contains 12 replies, has 7 voices, and was last updated by  Nika 10 years, 4 months ago.

Viewing 13 posts - 1 through 13 (of 13 total)

• Hello everyone, I am a 27 year old beginner of the 5:2 and today is my first fast day! I have done well so far today, having fasted for 16 hours (and its only 3pm, with at least another 4 hours until dinner) and Im feeling ok so far. Severely lacking in faith however….I have never done well on diets and I just cannot find the joy in exercise, though I continue to try. But fingers crossed, this is the begining of the end of being overweight!

Current weight: 150lbs
    Goal weight: 133lbs (17lbs loss)

Wish me luck!

Hello Natasha!
    As a fellow 27 year old I’m very happy to welcome you!! I too have never been successful at loosing weight. I would think about it a lot, talk about it a lot, and try really hard, but anyone looking in on my life from the outside would think that I am happy just trying to exercise more and more.
    I think I’m about 6 weeks in now, and about 7.5lb down, so halfway my first goal. More importantly the fasting seems to solve my insulin issues, so as long as I stick to food that I know is good for me during the day, I feel so much more in control of my food. Unbelievably so. I now actually find it easier not to eat on fast days. I have 300cal soup in the freezer, and runs of tuna in the pantry if I get hangry (hungry angry) but so far haven’t needed them.
    This morning the possibility entered my head of being able to lose weight until I got to my goal weight, and then just adjust things until I stabilise. Previously I just thought I would always be too big for my liking, and that I would always be trying and not succeeding for the rest of my life. Now I feel like it will still be a challenge sometimes, but a challenge I am in control of, and can succeed at.
    Best of luck to you! I look forward to hearing how you go 😀