Weight lifting on 5/2

This topic contains 6 replies, has 7 voices, and was last updated by  lvn 8 years, 4 months ago.

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)

• Hi all, first post here! I’m thinking of giving 5/2 a try but wondering how it would work with weight lifting and building muscle. I’ve been dieting and weight training for a couple of months, I’ve lost 20lbs and my strength has been going up well. I do 3 pretty strenuous full body workouts a week, doing squats, deads and bench presses ect. I like the sound of 5/2 as there seems to be a lot of science backing it up and it could help with my goals of losing more weight and building a better body so thought I’d ask on here to see what the experts say. So it’d be great to hear from anyone with experience of lifting while doing 5/2 šŸ™‚

Hi Dave,

From my (admittedly not encyclopaedic!) knowledge, I would suggest that if your goal is to build muscle you’d be better doing the workouts during your feed days rather than your fast days. Your muscles require a lot of energy to rebuild, which means you need to be consuming the appropriate amount of calories for muscle growth.

There are many studies however about fasted training and it’s positive impact on boosting fat loss, so if your goal is to get lean then fasted training on 5:2 could be helpful for that.

I think it’s important not to try to lose fat and build muscle in the same workout. Concentrate your fasted training days on fat loss, and your feed day workouts on targeting those muscle groups you want to develop and making sure you have sufficient calories and protein to facilitate muscle repair and growth. There are some really good blogs on the subject if you have a Google (I’m vaguely quoting one of them here but I lost the link unfortunately!)