Weight going up, measurements staying the same – what gives

Welcome to The Fast Diet The official Fast forums Body Weight loss
Weight going up, measurements staying the same – what gives

This topic contains 3 replies, has 3 voices, and was last updated by  Narrabeen2101 7 years ago.

Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)

• Hi,
    I have been doing 5:2 since June 2016 and have lost over 20Kg. I walk every day, and go to yoga three times a week. For the last two weeks, my weight has increased by about 600gm each week. So now + 1.2kg, but my measurements haven’t increased. I’m confused. I don’t think I have packed on muscle, I’m eating the same drinking the same and fasting the same.

I’m just at a bit of a loss as to why. I have had ups and downs on my journey, so I know the scale doesn’t always go down but this seems a bit not normal. I’m in my 50s so it isn’t hormonal.

any suggestions? I will keep on keeping on, but I have to be honest and admit I’m feeling a bit down.

Firstly, congratulations on your success. I do know how frustrating it can be when virtue is not rewarded, so here are a couple of basic things to consider.

Any new meds or supplements recently? Any thyroid problems? Have you recalculated your TDEE based on your new lower weight?

If not, your body may simply be needing less food than before. A plateau is not uncommon at your stage as your body becomes more efficient, especially if you are close to goal weight. You might also consider lowering intake on carbs, especially grains/starches/sugars, if you haven’t already done so.

Your measurements haven’t increased, so don’t get too hung up on the numbers (although we all do!). Final thought — does your weigh scale need a new battery?

Best wishes for solving your mystery. Hang in there, and those numbers will begin to drop again. 🙂

Hi Narrabeen,

Well done for shedding 20 kg! I too have been practicing 5:2 since June 2016.