Self-experiments with fasting

This topic contains 13 replies, has 4 voices, and was last updated by  diverdog 6 years, 1 month ago.

Viewing 14 posts - 1 through 14 (of 14 total)

• Hello everyone, I’ve been applying fasting principles to my diet for three years. Classic 5:2, 4:3, every other day, every other day water fasting and two day water fasting.
    I’m a 67 YO man, 5’9” and I weighed in at 165.2 lbs this morning. I’m very fit and healthy on zero meds but it wasn’t always so. From my early 30’s to 50 I was obese, weighing as much as 240 lbs. A heart attack scare at 50 made me determined to get my health under control and I did so by changing my diet and starting to exercise. I lost 60 lbs in nine months and kept most of it off for the next 17 years with a high point of ~200 6 years ago. My wife’s illness inspired me to get it great shape so I could care for her then and I did so in short order, a very fit and strong 175 lbs. It really helped me cope with the physical and mental challenges of caring for her at home until she passed away one year later.
    I called this post “Self-experiments with fasting” because as an engineer I was trained in the scientific method to prove out hypothesis (ideas) with experiments. I’ve been retired for 4 years and I’ve spent a ton of time reading and attending training on health and fitness. I take ideas that make sense to me and I experiment on myself. I gather data via blood tests (home and lab), DEXA and physical measurements. I have zero interest in scale weight but it’s a metric everyone relates to so I do track it.
    I started a five day water fast last night and I hope to complete it. If I can’t I will follow an FMD (Fasting Mimicking Diet) protocol for the balance of the 5 days. I’m going to share the progress, data and my experiences on nutrition, exercise and all of the different ways I’ve fasted here.