Migraine

This topic contains 24 replies, has 20 voices, and was last updated by  NancyDrew 9 years ago.

Viewing 25 posts - 1 through 25 (of 25 total)

• Hello, I have started two weeks ago, found the fasting manageable (although I do feel very hungry the day after and probably tend to eat more than I usually would). In the second week I have suffered the longest and more painful cluster of migraines and I am not sure whether it’s a coincidence or if the fasting could have triggered it. Has anybody else experienced migraines? Also, should I do a fast today, the day after the last migraine, and not feeling 100% yet?
    Thanks,
    MonBrizzle

I’m no expert but from my basic knowledge your brain will revert to ketone bodies as energy instead of serum glucose during times of fasting. I also had headaches when I started 3 weeks ago but I was also dehydrated. It’s getting easier now but first week was a challenge.
    I personally don’t think you should fast if you feel unwell. It’s tough enough anyway!!
    Good luck
    🙂 Z

Thank you Z, I didn’t fast afetr all and feeling better for it. I will give it another try tomorrow and monitor the migraine situation…

I fasted for the first time in months, from 1pm to 1pm. I do suffer from sinus headaches anyway, but also had a killer headache, the pain of which made me feel really sick and I had to come home from work or pass out. I didn’t think it was the fast, but now I wonder?

I don’t know about migraines, I have no experiences with them… But about headaches:
    – Are you taking in enough water? When fasting I find that I need to drink almost double my usual amount to prevent getting chapped lips and headaches.
    – Headaches can also indicate that toxins are being released by your cells (which is a good thing!) but are now running amock in your circulatory system for a bit, causing headaches. They should recede after a while of eating healthy.