Marathon Training

This topic contains 8 replies, has 4 voices, and was last updated by  shambala 9 years, 9 months ago.

Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)

• Hi All,
    I’m very new to the fast diet, in fact I only started today. I was wondering if anyone had experience of training for a marathon while on the fast diet. I’ve ran marathons before but never trained for one while fasting 2 or 3 times a week. I’m in the middle of training for one at the end of September. I was just wondering if anyone could give me any feedback on their experiences if they have done so, or even if it’s not a full marathon distance but some kind of endurance/long distance running event.

Well I’m not training for a marathon so I’m not sure how many days a week you would train, I’m currently running 5/8k 3 or 4 times a week and also fasting, I find that I run on my Fast Mornings, eg, Sunday is a normal day so I run on Monday morning after my first cup of black coffee and a glass of water, then Tuesday is a normal day so I rest, Weds again a fast day so I run in the morning. Thurs a normal day so I run again on Friday morning which is a fast day, I do my long run on Saturdays and rest from it all on Sundays!! I hope this helps. Its really mind over matter. I do however have a piece of fruit right after my run. I do the fast at the moment 3 times a week, am going to cut it back to twice a week shortly as I am just 8lb away from my goal! I would imagine though two weeks or so before your marathon that you would not fast on any days but eat little and often, and use foods high in GI etc on those few weeks. There is an excellent book Fitness on a plate which would help choose the best foods for your exercise