IF vs. calorie-reduction diets and their effects on 'Set-point'' body weight

Welcome to The Fast Diet The official Fast forums Body Science of intermittent fasting
IF vs. calorie-reduction diets and their effects on 'Set-point'' body weight

This topic contains 5 replies, has 6 voices, and was last updated by  Apricot 7 years, 11 months ago.

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)

• I am fairly new to 5:2, having been inspired recently by Dr Mosley’s “East, Fast and Live Longer” BBC programme and having lost many battles over the last 10 or so years trying to lose weight through self-control, exercise, calorie restriction, “eating well” and all the usual advice.

I have done a lot of research in the last few weeks on the science of intermittent fasting. I read a lot of the forum posts on this website, I watched Dr Mosley’s programme a couple of times and I read many of the blog posts on Dr Jason Fung’s IntensiveDietaryManagement.com (as clearly Dr Fung seems to promote fasting quite strongly, and his blog posts are very comprehensive with lots of data / diagrams etc. to justify his opinions).

After all my research, to date, one thing puzzles me:

What is really the difference between intermittent fasting vs low-calorie diets which clinicians tend to advise to people trying to lose weight?
    More specifically, how does intermittent fasting get round the so frustrating issue of weight loss plateau experienced in all other diets, where the body tries to fight back and slow the metabolism down to prevent starvation?

Dr Fung argues that Intermittent Fasting increases, not decreases, the BMR.
    He argues that unlike calorie-restriction diets, which restrict calories all of the time (and thus lower the BMR, which make those diets ineffective longer-term), fasting, according to him, has the opposite effect.