How many meals allowed on fast day?

This topic contains 4 replies, has 4 voices, and was last updated by  Fatostrich 7 years, 11 months ago.

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)

• Hi, I’m new to 5:2 and although I looked up the basic info and feel I understand what it’s about, I’m not sure if there is a necessary period of time on fast days when you should not be eating at all. I’ve read some recommendations to have a breakfast at 7.30am and then dinner at 7.30pm – which would make it 12hr fasting period or having breakfast at 11am and dinner at 7pm (8hr fasting period).

But what I’m not clear on is whether the fasting is down to just purely consuming only 500 cal (so can I choose to have 5×100 cal snacks a on fast day) OR for it to be successful is it necessary to starve your body for some minimum period of time? If so, what is that minimum period of time?
    Thanks 🙂

Hi Fato and welcome:

Varady’s research shows you can eat as often as you want on diet days and get the same results as eating only once. This addresses the general time between meals issue: https://thefastdiet.co.uk/forums/topic/52-calorie-restriction-v-fasting-for-newbies/

Here are some general tips: https://thefastdiet.co.uk/forums/topic/the-basics-for-newbies-your-questions-answered/

Good Luck!

There is a school of thought that an extended period with no food will yield better results since it lowers insulin levels. I guess it depends to some extent on the individual.

Many fasters also find it easier to avoid eating for as long as possible, and aim for one (usually evening) meal only.

Simco, I thought you ate once only (at most) on fast days?