How do you imagine yourself to be after losing weight?

Welcome to The Fast Diet The official Fast forums Soul Before and after
How do you imagine yourself to be after losing weight?

This topic contains 15 replies, has 7 voices, and was last updated by  annina 8 years, 9 months ago.

Viewing 16 posts - 1 through 16 (of 16 total)

• Hello!

My name is Annina, I’m a master student in social and cultural studies and at the moment I’m doing a small research on what motivates people to lose weight and take part in programmes such as the Fast Diet. Some people seem to have the idea that they once they lose weight, they’ll somehow be different from the person they are now. Is that something you think about? How – or who – do you imagine yourself to be once you’ve lost weight?

I’d be really happy to hear your thoughts on this. You can also contact me personally at annina.schlatter(at)rub.de

Best, Annina

I think for me it is trying to recapture who I used to be! Pictures and glimpses in mirror can shock me into realising I am not in the body I thought I was circa 10years ago.
    Also health anxiety motivates me. Weight loss is definitely sought but also peace of mind that I am doing the best for myself, actively trying to avoid the many detrimental diseases.
    Self preservation and self development. Always good to strive for better in life!

Hey bluezoo, thanks a lot for your reply, that was really interesting! Could you maybe explain a bit what you mean with self preservation and self development? I’m not sure if I understand that right.

My feelings are similar, with a twist. I am 53, and look 40 (good genes). I feel like this is my last chance to get my youthful figure back before I get all wrinkly!