Giving up after these results

This topic contains 5 replies, has 6 voices, and was last updated by  franfit 10 years ago.

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)

• Hi Everyone,

I have been doing the 5:2 for 10 months now, with no lapses.

I just had some blood tests back and I’m really disappointed and surprised by these three results.

Mean Plasma Glucose 115 (HbA1c of 5.4, which is almost pre-diabetic)
    Total cholesterol 212 (or 11.8)
    LDL cholesterol 146 (or 8.1)

I am 48 yrs, male and weigh 161lb and am 74 inches tall, so BMI is just 21.25

I never eat sweet things (except some fresh fruit) always read food labels and cook 95% of my own meals; so I just can’t understand this.

I have to say as well that I have often really suffered on fast days, with low energy, low mood and hunger but I have always stuck with it because I thought it was doing some good.
    Now I feel embarrassed, like I have fallen for something which is a con.

After all this time and effort these results make me feel completely demoralised so I think I am going to give up and just eat normally again. It’s very frustrating.

Hi:

I’m not sure what your problem is, but if it is high cholesterol after at large weight loss, that is a common result. Your fat cells each contain cholesterol and after a large weight loss the cholesterol is released. Cholesterol levels return to normal after the weigh loss levels out for awhile. This explains it (plus a lot of other things): http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OFD2q5iqevY

Good Luck!

you are a very lucky man over 6 foot and only 11 stone!
    maybe u need to focus on cholestrol reduction foods now like oats fruit cabbage olive oil and never dairy foods and improve your activity levels