Continued benefits?

This topic contains 6 replies, has 4 voices, and was last updated by  _deleted account 6 years, 7 months ago.

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)

• Do the health benefits of fasting – lower blood sugar, bp, cholesterol etc. Continue once you stop 5:2 and go on to maintenance -assuming a generally healthy diet and moderate exercise?

Interesting question. I’m assuming the benefits will continue if your weight is controlled, your diet is healthy and you continue to exercise. My personal experience of maintaining though, requires following a fasting regime, either 6:1 or 5:2. I’ve been maintaining for over 2 years and am waiting for my latest blood tests. If I don’t fast I gain weight no matter how careful or well I eat.

I plan to stay on the 5:2 or 6:1 eating plan when I reach my goal in order to maintain my goal weight. If I don’t, I’ll probably gain it all back. I’ve lost weight in the past on a variety (low calorie, low carb) diets and I always gained it all back. It was only a matter of time, and usually not very much. I don’t see this as being any different if I just quit when my target is achieved. Why would it be? At the risk of sounding like a cliche, If I go back to doing what I always did, I’ll get the same results that I always got.

This fasting diet fits my lifestyle. I only have to worry about calorie counting 2 days per week. The rest of the week I just eat mindfully. The only time I’ve counted calories on a NFD is when I’ve hit a long plateau, to make sure I wasn’t eating more than I imagined. (I was.) One important thing that I’ve found is that I’m not as hungry as I used to be. I don’t start looking for food every time I feel a twinge of hunger. I know I’ll live if I don’t have time to stop and eat for a few hours. 😄 This way of living and eating is easy. It interferes very little with my day to day life. I like the way I feel. I don’t want to be overweight again. So sticking with it permanently is a no brainer for me.