5:2 and Autophagy

This topic contains 9 replies, has 8 voices, and was last updated by  diet021271 5 years, 11 months ago.

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)

• Can someone point me in the right direction. I am keen to reap the autophagy benefits of 5:2 fasting – however all information and research seems to tell me that to truly get into autophagy you have to have ZERO food / calories / drinks (minus water) etc. Even a swig of apple cider vinegar is shown to kick you out of autophagy. If this is the case – how can consuming 500 calories put you into autophagy. Please guide me to the correct research. Thanks

Look up Valter Luongo and fasting mimicking diet. He studies longevity and diet. Lots of youtube clips with Valter.

You are correct the easiest way is to not eat. If you can do that then no problems. Ive been doing true fasts for two years now. Its not as hard as you think and you get used to it. Took me about 6 months before it was comfortable, and after about 12 months it became easy. The hunger pangs caused by ghrelin decrease with time as Ghrelin production decreases the longer you fast for (it does come back after very long fasts but Ive not gone that long). I used to fast for 2 days per week but only do one day per week now. I no longer wish to lose any more weight.

Apple cider vinegar kicks you our of autophagy?? Can you point me to where you got that information from, it doesn’t sound right. Apple cider vinegar is an appetite suppressant and lessens insulin spikes post eating. Your body is performing autophagy all the time, its just that fasting severely accelerates this process. Apparently Valter’s work seems to indicate that you can trick the body into this accelerated autophagy mode with a very selective diet.