New to 5/2 – help please!

This topic contains 9 replies, has 4 voices, and was last updated by  Kari641 4 years, 11 months ago.

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)

• Hi all
    Today is my first fast day on the 5/2 diet. Iā€™m wondering if anyone could suggest the best place/ way to track my calorie intake. And also the best place to go to for recipes?

Thanks heaps in advance
    Best S

Suzie,

Best of luck with it. I’ve been doing this for 6 years, so I can vouch it has worked for me.

I’m not a great foodie so I just worked out a couple of Fast Day meal plans and have stuck with them. Clearly most people need more variety than that and the Fast Book link from this website has a couple of recipe books that may give you what you need.

The thing with 5:2 is that, apart for the Fast Days, you don’t have to count your calories at all. The Fast Recipe books will give you the calories each of their meals contain. As I have a very limited meal plan for my Fast Days I just worked out how many calories were in each of them to aim for a 600 calorie intake on the day (I think the new book allows more calories). I’m pretty sure I got my original calorie totals for each ingredient from the first Fast Diet book. I worked it out once and then just stuck to the small number of meals I use – porridge or granola for breakfast with blueberries, a small fruit portion for lunch, and either eggs on unbuttered toast or bacon and beans on unbuttered toast for the evening. A can of zero coke gives some extra flavour with the evening meal. Black coffee, sparkling water (“sodastreamed”) and sometimes a glass of squash during the day too. I appreciate this approach will not work for everyone.