Need some tips on breaking the fast (lost 135lbs to date)

Welcome to The Fast Diet The official Fast forums Welcome to The Fast Diet and Exercise forums
Need some tips on breaking the fast (lost 135lbs to date)

This topic contains 3 replies, has 2 voices, and was last updated by  fasting_me 5 years, 6 months ago.

Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)

• Hey,

I’m Mike and I have been doing intermittend fasting (19-5) for the last 8 months; Mid January, I weighed around 380 pounds and as of today i’m at 245. I’m 26 years old and 5’11.

I do HIIT training 3x a week (mostly 15 second sprints and 30 second walk) for 30 minutes (with 5 minutes of warm up at the start and at the end) and play basketball 2x a week. I feel like I am starting to hit a weight loss plateau and I would like to know what I can do to get through it. (I started going to gym this week to build some muscle mass)

I would like to know what is the optimal foods to eat when breaking your fast. I usually have plain oatmeal (60g), use almond milk instead of regular milk, cinnamon, and 2 tbs of natural peanut butter with 2 small apples on the side. This may seem like a lot, but I only eat 2 meals per day.

I would like to know if it would be better to break my fast with Proteins/fats instead of what I am currently eating.

Thanks in advance, really appreciate it.

Mcpenco, your weight loss is fabulous! Well done.

It sounds as if your 19/5 eating pattern has worked so far. I perceive that you are not actually doing a calorie restriction menu for 1 or 2 days/week as Michael Mosley suggests for the 5:2 Diet. Most of us on this Forum take that tack. My husband and I have been doing the 5:2 [at 600 calories for each of the 2 days] for 5 years and are at our target weights.

We have eggs for breakfast on both Fast Days. Since you are asking what to eat after fasting for 19 hours, I would suggest protein for breakfast. How many calories do you eat in your 2 meals/ day?