Help – I must be doing something wrong

This topic contains 8 replies, has 6 voices, and was last updated by  cecilia09 10 years, 4 months ago.

Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)

• I’m new to 5:2 diet. I started my first fast day yesterday at 2pm. I had one apple and pot of jelly around 8 pm yesterday. Nothing until 2pm today when I finished my fast and had my lunch.
    I must be doing something wrong. I wasn’t hungry at all during my fast and I didn’t use all my 500 calories. Do I need to have all 500 calories? Is from 2pm to 2pm long enough fast?
    After I finished my fast and ate my lunch at 2pm I have been feeling so hungry. I just had my dinner and my stomach feels empty and I feel really hungry. I think I need to order a pizza. Why do I feel hungry when I’m not fasting?
    I could have continued fasting because I wasn’t hungry at all. Please help. There must be something wrong with my body.

Hi @cecilia09 I don’t think there’s anything at all wrong with your body but it does take it time to adjust to this new way of eating.

You don’t HAVE to use all of your 500 cals on a fast day, not everyone does but you do have to find a way of fasting that suits you best. Is there a particular reason why you do 2pm to 2pm?

Many people find, at least to begin with that having dinner on the evening before the fast day then a light breakfast of perhaps scrambled egg and then a 300-400 cal dinner in the evening suits best but as I said, you do what suits you best.

What did you have for lunch at the end of your fast? Was it filling enough? Was your dinner filling enough? Did those meals have plenty protein and veg to keep you full for longer?

It really is a case of ‘try it and see’ and you can’t judge how it will work by just one fast day.

If you read the ‘how?’ and ‘faq’ links at the top of the page you’ll get lots of tips and just keep asking questions here on the forums. You’ll soon get the hang of it and it will become much easier.

Good luck x