"Feast" days ?

This topic contains 11 replies, has 5 voices, and was last updated by  annette52 7 years, 5 months ago.

Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)

• Hi! Newbie here 🙂

So,
    5 “feast” days when you don’t have to calorie count, nothing’s restricted, nothing’s banned, no major rules, no food groups banned etc
    2 “fast” days = 500 calories or less. (But still nothing banned).

Great, I thought! Easy. I can sacrifice those 2 days if I can eat “normally” the other 5. This diet doesn’t require me to go vegan or gluten free or cut out dairy! It doesn’t require me to ban wine or crisps or chocolate! No low fat, low carbs, high protein or juices! The only rule is 500 calories on 2 days.

But now, reading more, it doesn’t sound so easy. Those 5 days are not quite “eat what you want” days. I mean I never expected to eat a box donuts or a couple of tubs of ice cream, and nor would I want to! But I hoped for normal eating with no calorie counting. Buying a sandwich without reading the label, or having a slice of cake with my coffee without worrying. No more shopping only from the diet aisles in the supermarket!

But my TDEE is about 1700. (And I believe that’s what I’d eat for weight maintenance. For weight loss it’d have to be less than 1700 – is that right?)

So really, I do have to calorie count, don’t I? Just that it’s less counting on 5 days and more on 2. (Or more on 5 and less on 2!?!)

Doesn’t sounds so great now:( Am I missing something? Help!

Don’t panic. What attracted me to the 5:2 was the lack of counting calories, points or anything else and I never ever thought that it would work either. I lost weight and inches without ever giving a thought to what I ate on non fast days(NFD).

I did find though, that I felt better with the food that I ate on a fast day(FD) so found myself making better choices on NFD, which was something that I realized over time.