Fasting consecutive days or extra days?

This topic contains 16 replies, has 9 voices, and was last updated by  jhoulihan 10 years, 6 months ago.

Viewing 17 posts - 1 through 17 (of 17 total)

• I’ve been 5:2’ing for a couple months. I had health & weight before, and started it for long term health reasons rather than weight loss specifically.

I find it extremely comfortable fasting 2 days per week, in fact I feel great when I do it, and feel I could easily fast longer or more frequently.

Is the reason for 5:2 ratio mainly psychological (most people would struggle with any more), or is it really the optimal physiological ratio?

Personally I am interested in trying the fast on consecutive days, or possibly every second day. Is this likely to deliver further benefits on top of the 5:2 approach?

-Brendan

** I meant to say: “I had healthy weight before”.

(I’ve dropped a couple of kg’s anyway, actually… even colleagues noticing.)

Hi Brendan. I have been doing 5:2 for 11 months off and on with Monday and Wednesday as my fast days. This week for some reason I cannot explain I did Monday, Tuesday which was very easy to do. I may do so again but the main reason to split days I think was psychological from the view that people would find it easier. If you click on the faq link at the top right of the page, scroll down and click on the question you will get the answer from Michael. The benefits should be the same I think apart from giving you a bit more freedom to make choices as to what you eat for the next 5 days.Good Luck.

I am trying something different from the book though which suggests intermittent 2 days a week fasting.

I am doing Tuesday after breakfast then lunch no more than 600 cals fasting right through to Wednesday lunch then evening meal 600 cals tops. Then the other 5 days eating normally.

Would love to hear from anyone else’s thoughts about the fast diet.