24 hours fasting?

This topic contains 4 replies, has 4 voices, and was last updated by  Jamilla 8 years, 2 months ago.

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)

• Hey everyone,

I know you are supposed to do a 36 hours fasting but I was wondering if 24 hours works as well?

I am a student and my social life can be a bit hectic. The fasting I have been doing is the following: I have f.ex my last normal meal on Sunday 7 pm. On Monday I don’t eat all day (just lots of water and tea) until 7 pm. Then I will have a normal meal again so not one of 500 kcal.

I have been doing this because I find it very difficult to count the calories, plus I will stay hungry after eating only 500 kcal. Besides that I have an active social life and I would like to be able to just eat a “normal” meal with friends and maybe even consume some alcohol starting from 7 pm (so if I have been fasting on a Monday until 7 om I still want to have the opportunity to go to a restaurant or cafe with friends).

Is this okay or am I doing it all wrong? I eat healthily on the non-fast days (I am vegan).

Thank you!

Weight loss is achieved by calorie restriction so if you are considering eating normally and drinking alcohol it is unlikely that you’ll lose weight even if you have fasted all day.
    I’m sorry to say that if you want to lose weight the fact is that you have to commit to it, make some sacrifices and exercise some willpower.

Hi Jamilla

In order for 5.2 to work you can only have 500 calories 2 days of the week otherwise you are not doing 5.2 at all. You can find plenty of recipes online for dinners that are less than 500 calories and quick and easy to make. Just pick 2 nights when you are not going out and plan those as your fast days. Once you get used to it you will find it very easy to follow.

Good luck