Vegan Horse Trainer

This topic contains 3 replies, has 2 voices, and was last updated by  bigbooty 7 years, 3 months ago.

Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)

• Today was my fast day. I work outside all day in 23 degrees F. I am a horse trainer, so after years of experience I own all of the proper equipment and know how to dress for it. I was freezing today and started shivering something horrible. I even had hand warmers in my gloves. I’ve decided to not do a fast day if the temperatures are below 36 degrees F. I just can’t effectively and safely do my job. My fasting days are Monday & Thursday. I went in for a DXA scan this summer to truly know my body fat % and to quit making excuses for my weight I started tracking my calories, even on heavy eating days. There were days I was at 3600 calories. Surprisingly my DXA scan showed I had 28.6% body fat at 152.5 pounds for 68″ tall. My goal is to obtain 15.5% body fat and then see if that’s something I can maintain, this the reason I’m adopting a lifestyle change. I have been vegan since 2011, but if was not until 2015 that I found WFPNO (Whole Foods Plant Based No Oil) which has greatly reduced my inflammation in my joints. Now that I’m doing 5:2 I almost have no pain, which is really great for my very physical job.

I was stuck for a while losing weight prior to 5:2 and it was because of how much wine I was drinking every night. I’ve given-up wine since starting on 11/19, am carefully accounting for every calorie that goes in my mouth and went from 149.8 to 142.6 in 3-weeks. I’m happy. Mainly because I’m more in-tune with actual hunger and have stopped the cycle of stress eating at night.