Newby – wanting some advice

This topic contains 5 replies, has 6 voices, and was last updated by  ormaman444444 7 years, 1 month ago.

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)

• Hi, I’m new to the 5:2 way of life and I’m really happy with doing my fast days on a Mon and Wed. However, I feel that I don’t always want/need lunch on my non-fast days, so wondered if there is any value on missing my lunch on other days when I don’t feel hungry but not stick to a 500 cal limit. I don’t want to sabbotage my fast day efforts. Would really appreciate your thoughts and experiences.

Hi Twinkle and welcome:

The guidance is to eat 500 cal. or less on your diet days. Many don’t eat anything on diet days, and many more eat their 500 cal. in one evening meal. Here is much information and many tips: https://thefastdiet.co.uk/forums/topic/the-basics-for-newbies-your-questions-answered/

Good Luck!

I started intermittent fasting last week and so far so good! I fast for 36 hours on Mondays, Wednesdays and fridays drinking nothing but water, green tea and coffee.
    On my mind fast days, Tuesday, Thursday sat and Sunday I eat my 500 kcals at lunch time (chicken, veg and noodles) and thats it. Seems to be working for me at moment, not feeling that hungry or deprived but some days I do feel a little nausea but it soon passes once i keep busy! Am i doing this right?

Laurarose88, if I understand you correctly you are having zero calories 3 days per week and only 500 calories on each of the other 4 days per week – that’s only 2,000 calories for the week. Please don’t continue like this, I can’t imagine that this can be good for you.

Please read the website – it explains how to follow the program:
    https://thefastdiet.co.uk/how-many-calories-on-a-non-fast-day/