Motivation wanted!

This topic contains 9 replies, has 5 voices, and was last updated by  enrivma 7 years, 5 months ago.

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)

• Hi everyone!

I’ve been fasting for a few months now. I was doing 5:2 until last week, but I wasn’t losing weight so I’ve bumped it up to 4:3. I did lose some cms around my waist, so I know it hasn’t been wasted effort, but I wanted to make more progress.

I’m finding my fast days quite difficult. I do get quite hungry about 4pm. I save all my calories for the evening because otherwise I find I don’t sleep well and also dream quite intensely of food. Ideally I think I would eat my main meal about 4pm but it doesn’t fit in with my work and commuting schedule.

I’d love to chat to people around the forum about this way of life!

Hi enrivma,

There are others who practice 4:3, though for some reason, those that do, don’t seem to stick around.

I attempted 4:3 one week and it threw me into an adrenal crash, so I know it is too much for me. My adrenals don’t have the capacity to secret the amount of cortisol required for alternate day fasting. I got the shakes, heart palps, nausea and faint, all symptoms of low cortisol. I’ve been chronically ill, so is why I struggled with it.

I’m sorry you weren’t able to lose weight n 5:2. Have you seen this informative thread that is devoted to that topic?

https://thefastdiet.co.uk/forums/topic/tdee-for-the-curious-or-why-dont-i-lose-weight-faster/

I started 5:2 September 2015. My goal wasn’t to lose weight, but to be able to eat without worrying about calories on the weekends.