How do you motivate yourself?

Welcome to The Fast Diet The official Fast forums Body Weight loss
How do you motivate yourself?

This topic contains 7 replies, has 7 voices, and was last updated by  Minka 7 years, 9 months ago.

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)

• Hello! I am really new to fasting (started a week and a half ago), and was wondering how other people keep motivated. Do you keep a picture of yourself at your heaviest? Look at celebrities? Imagine yourself being happy, fit, and healthy?
    I don’t think I’ve found real motivation yet, but that hasn’t stopped me from losing 10 lbs in recent months (140-130). WELLLL, on the rare occasion when I go out for a 3- mile jog, I think back at all those fandom shirts that say “run like you’re late for tea with Tom Hiddleston” and then I turn into Olympic gold material hehehe.

Hi Vulcan,
    My strategy has been to make 5:2 an easy and sustainable part of life, rather than something that needs continual motivation.
    When I began I could accept it was good for my general health, and good for weight loss. It is much easier and more sustainable than other fating regimes: two light eating days a week. No need to motivate myself except, if I am very hungry on a fast day, I comfort myself with what delicious breakfast I will eat in the morning.

Starting to get the results that you are looking for will help. My husband is fasting with me and that certainly helps with motivation.

Vulcan Commander,

What is your goal? If you want to lose weight quickly, you will have to be smart with your TDEE on non fast days (NFD). Start with your TDEE for your goal weight, not current weight. You have to make staying under that a habit. Then, you have to only ingest a fourth of your TDEE on your two FDs.