Help for a beginner

This topic contains 10 replies, has 7 voices, and was last updated by  Jcunningham264 6 years ago.

Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)

• Hallo. I am new to 5:2 dieting so I have the following questions:

1. what can you drink on fast days? Obviously water but what about tea or coffee?

2. Over what sort of timeframe are you supposed to do 5:2? A month, three months, six months?

Thanks in advance!

Hi H and welcome:

You can drink anything you want – just count the calories if there are any. Tea and coffee are fine.

If you really do 5:2, you will find it turns into a way of life. People that have lost 50 or 100 pounds report they just continue doing 5:2 – perhaps eating more on their non-diet days or setting a ‘range’ where, if they exceed the top causes them to do 5:2 until they return their desired weight.

Here are some tips: https://thefastdiet.co.uk/forums/topic/the-basics-for-newbies-your-questions-answered/

Good Luck!

I drink mostly tea with a dash of skimmed milk & water… I count the 100 ml of milk as 40 cals..I only have a dash in tea….. Also Coca cola zero is good in fact anything with zero calories.I have no time frame… weight loss is an ongoing thing… you’ll know when you need to maintain when you get to the weight you want to be
    Good luck 🙂

@hbox1983 – I prefer to eat my calories on fast days so drink black coffee, black herbal teas, Marmite tea (yum) and sometimes low cal fizzy drinks in the evening if I am desperate. I have a feeling artificial sweeteners may interfer with your insulin/blood sugar control but there seems to be little concensus on this.