Hashimotos (Post-Hysterectomy weight gain) and Intro

Welcome to The Fast Diet The official Fast forums Body Medical conditions and fasting
Hashimotos (Post-Hysterectomy weight gain) and Intro

This topic contains 12 replies, has 4 voices, and was last updated by  ThaiMama 7 years, 5 months ago.

Viewing 13 posts - 1 through 13 (of 13 total)

• I’m new to intermittent fasting but not new to fasting. I’ve done a lot of fasting over the years.

I just found out that I have Hashimotos and I’m hoping that, with the assistance of my Euthyrox that I can finally release all of the weight that piled onto my body after my hysterectomy 4 years ago.

I was 60 kg before my hysterectomy and the weight just came on without cause. Some weeks I gained 8kg and I wasn’t eating any differently.

So after years of exhaustion and moving to Thailand the doctors here diagnosed me with Hashimotos and have started me on meds. I’m hoping that’s the cause of all this weight gain and that now I can release it.

I’m going to begin 5:2 and see how it goes…

wish me luck

Hello ThaiMama,

I too have Hashimotos! I believe I had it for possibly a whole decade before I was diagnosed. At one point I gained a lot of weight because my thyroid was so poorly functioning and I was so fatigued I could not exercise. I’m also post menopausal. Along my Hashimotos journey, I tried a few different types of thyroid replacement medications and doses before finding a type that really worked for me, and only then did I find it again easier to shed extra weight (prior to that the going was so slow and seemed as if no matter how meagerly I ate, the weight did not shift) and I got my energy levels back. Subsequently I reached goal weight via 5:2 and am now maintaining. Wishing you the best of luck and keep us posted!

Hi Thai and welcome:

Here are some 5:2 tips: https://thefastdiet.co.uk/forums/topic/the-basics-for-newbies-your-questions-answered/

Good Luck!