Getting nowhere fast

This topic contains 5 replies, has 4 voices, and was last updated by  MaryAnn 8 years, 8 months ago.

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)

• Hi everyone, I have been doing the 5:2 for about 4 weeks now and have not lost a single pound. I maintain about a 1700 cal intake on my non fast days and stick to a 500 cal intake on my fasting days. I do yoga and cardiovascular workouts alternative days about 5 times a week for 30/40 mins each time. I am 138 pounds and 5 foot tall 48 year old woman who is fit and well bar some mild arthritis.

As a health professional I have a better than average grasp of what is healthy, have exercised regularly for over over 20 years, scratch cook, avoid processed food and wheat but have always struggled to lose weight. I am not obese but am overweight for my height. I really am at a loss and need some reassurance that in time this will work, I only want to drop about 7-10 pounds! Any ideas???

Have you worked out your TDEE? This is the number of calories you need to maintain your weight given the amount of activity you enter. This can be done by using the tool on your Fast Diet profile. I think your problem is the amount you are eating over this on your non fast days – 1700 calories seems too much for someone who is 5 ft tall! If you are eating too much on non fast days it cancels out all your efforts on your fast days so do check your calorie levels. Certainly if you are only needing to drop a few pounds progress will be slower – it always is as you near the ideal weight. I’m not a fan of counting calories but when the margins are small it may be the only way. Don’t give up – this is the ony method I’ve tried that really works for me and is sustainable. Good luck.