Food-addicted newbie

This topic contains 11 replies, has 4 voices, and was last updated by  Floridag1rl 7 years, 1 month ago.

Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)

• Hi everybody, newbie here šŸ™‚
    I am a self-confessed food addict. Food occupies my thoughts most of the day, every day. I am a very good cook, but in being so, I have quickly gained about 2 stone in the past four years since leaving university and starting a full time desk job. I am 5ā€5 female, I have a pretty muscular build which doesnā€™t help me during BMI checks etc so I just skip that. I am 176lbs, and I hope to return to my post university 140lbs. How long do you think this will take?
    Today is the first day of my 5:2 journey. I think I can do it – I used to live in a Muslim country and sometimes fasted during Ramadan. I think it will be much easier to fast all day, just drinking 0 calorie drinks and maybe some celery. Then I will have my full 500 calories at dinner. I think this will be easier as I wonā€™t have to keep calorie counting. Has anyone noticed weight loss differences in doing this vs eating 2 or 3 small meals?

Hi,

The amount you lose using any weight loss method depends on how much you eat not how you eat it.

I only eat dinner on FDs as once I start eating I don’t want to stop and 500 calories means a decent sized meal which eliminates the issue of going to bed hungry.

The average woman loses around 1lb per week on 5:2 but once you get into the rhythm of fasting you can always add an extra day to speed things up.

Good luck šŸ™‚

Hi there nw1990

I started with the 5:2 way of eating on Jan.1 of this year…the first week I ate my 500 cal for dinner…but I am a binge eater and I find that it is easier for me to not eat at all on my fasting days.

I have lost about a lb a week since I’ve started…I am much older than you and the metabolism has slowed over the years. I’m going to keep plugging along…I’ve lost 10 lbs since the first of the year…I can live with that.