do zero calorie days work

This topic contains 25 replies, has 14 voices, and was last updated by  Newburk 7 years, 9 months ago.

Viewing 26 posts - 1 through 26 (of 26 total)

• I am male, 177cm and have been as heavy as 136kgs. Through using a variety of strategies, but mainly a controlled diet of 1200cals per day courtesy of a meal supply company, I have recently been down to 99kg. Several years ago I took myself from 126kg to 80 kg in 12 months using a soup diet and then put it on and more in the following couple of years. So I have some experience with diets.
    I have had two periods of fasting. The first, a year ago, when I travelled for four months and did alternate day fasting with zero calories on fasting days. I wasn’t religious about missing fasting days but sometimes did two zero days of fasting to catch up. In that time I managed to only put on 3kg. Had I been eating carelessly I would have put on 10-15kgs in the same period. I can stack it on really fast.
    The second time has been the last three or four months when I have been doing a 4-3 pattern (fasting Monday, Wednesday and Fridays) with zero calories on fasting days. To my frustration I have gone from 99kgs to 108 in that time.
    I am really frustrated because I want this so much to work. I see it as a strategy I can happily employ for life. The reason I like the fasting idea is that I can easily go one, two even three days without any food but once I eat on any day I have great difficulty stopping. I just munch all day till I sleep, not mountains of food but more than is good for me.
    Nowhere can I find reference in Michael’s info to testing on zero calorie fasts. I am now wondering if it is necessary for some reason to eat the 600cals to teach the body something. Any thoughts gratefully considered. Are there any others facing a similar dilemma? I am now going to try eating the 600cals per fasting day but….