Diet and Body muscles

This topic contains 11 replies, has 7 voices, and was last updated by  BrownMason 5 years, 6 months ago.

Viewing 13 posts - 1 through 13 (of 13 total)

• Hi,
    I am interested to know if 5:2 days diet will affect body muscle and fat ratio.

I am generally a healthy and active person. Being a woman in 50s, I had a body weight around 58kg (1.63m height) and body fat of 21% in 2014. This was a result of Dexa scan. In 2016, I had another scan result which shows my body fat increased to 29%, a big surprise to me. During the two years, I had very strict control of diet with daily calorie intake between 1200-1800 a day. There were days around 600-800, possibly once a week. At the same time, my activity level increased. I have been doing ballet classes for about 16 years. while I did about 3 times a week around 2014 (2 hours session), after 2014, the classes increased to 4- 5 times a week, occasionally 6 times a week. After a lot of research, I came to a conclusion that the increased body fat may caused by several factors: 1)Menopause; 2)No enough daily calorie intake, so that my body converted muscles to quick calorie use. I then went to see a nutritionist who seems confirmed my view. I then started to change my diet and also tried to have proteins after dancing. The problem is now I am struggling with weight,which is around 60kgs. The daily calorie intake I think now might be around 1800.
    I would like to know: 1)Am I doing the right thing? 2)I also usually only eat a piece of fruit in morning, almost only eat in 10 hours time during a day. 3) My total cholesterol level also increased to over 6 and fasting blood sugar level is almost 6. My resting heart rate is always below 60. My GP and husband tend to think that I am a hypochondriac with extremely good health. I am very skeptical about this view. Would like to know other views.

Patilpooja,
    Thank you for your reply.