Appetite suppressants?

This topic contains 7 replies, has 8 voices, and was last updated by  kospakosma 7 years, 4 months ago.

Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)

• Hi everyone, I’m new to all of this, but wanted some advice on using appetite suppressants on fast days. Earlier in the week I had a scheduled fast day, and also a concert to perform in the evening, and I didn’t want to feel flakey and hungry when performing (which I had felt on previous fast days – maybe its just my body getting used to it?) In any case, for the first time ever I purchased appetite suppressants from the supermarket. The main ingredient is guar gum and it also has oat seed husk, pectin, and psyllium husk power. I have to say that taking these made a huge difference – I didn’t feel hungry at all. But I’m wondering if I’m defeating the purpose of fasting if my body doesn’t actually feel hungry. Thoughts and advice very much appreciated 🙂

I think you’ll get two types of answer to this. The “puritanical” view is that suffering on fast day is part of “stressing” the body by fasting and therefore necessary. And, even though your stuff sounds fairly benign and without drugs, it’s still a concoction. This view also opposes use of sucralose, stevia etc. The “pragmatic” view is that anything that works is ok because the goal is calorie restriction on fast days, while suffering may be unavoidable, but not necessary for any of the benefits of fasting.

I’m in the latter camp myself, but I admit I could be wrong. And, I would advise that you make sure that this appetite suppressant is without any stimulants of any kind. There are many alkaloid stimulants that are dangerous. And, I will point out that there is always some risk with this kind of stuff, because you don’t really know what’s in it, at least not in the USA.