Accidental ketosis on fast days

This topic contains 3 replies, has 3 voices, and was last updated by  Grazia 9 years, 2 months ago.

Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)

• I am new to this, only one fast down and planned my fast day to the calorie. I experience fluctuating blood sugar levels when eating sugars (even fruit) so made sure on my fast day I had protein for breakfast (egg, with veg scrambled), lunch (turkey with low calorie veg), and dinner (tuna with more veg).

When I woke the next day I had an awful taste in my mouth and seemed to be producing more saliver than usual. Even though I have had a normal eating day today, the taste is still there (7pm at night). I wondered if I had triggered an accidental state of ketosis in my body. I don’t want to experience this every fast – does anyone have any suggestions as to if this is what happened?

Yeah, it’s probably ketosis. It’s not a bad thing as it means your body’s munching fat but it is a nasty taste in the mouth. I get it off & on (been 5:2ing for well over a year now). It doesn’t seem to be noticable to other people but to avoid any embarrassing bad breath moments or having the taste in my mouth I tend to keep a supply of sugarfree very low cal mints/chewing gum at hand.

You’ll get used to it anyway. It’s a small price to pay and as I say it doesn’t seem to affect other people (noone avoids me because of bad breath or anything) it’s just a comfort thing for yourself more than anything. Usually wears off after the first non-fastday, so if you do your 2 fastdays with only a day between them, you’ll find you spend half the week with no ketosis taste at all and possibly some ketosis during the other (fasting) half – no biggie.

Thanks Traceyj,

The mints is a good idea. I might take you up on that suggestion. I felt quite uncomfortable though with the taste, so on my second fast day today, I had half a piece of toast with breakfast to try and up the carbs just slightly.