3 day versus ADF

This topic contains 52 replies, has 7 voices, and was last updated by  michelemm1 5 years, 11 months ago.

Viewing 50 posts - 1 through 50 (of 53 total)

• Hi fasters

I am relatively new to fasting. I have been doing OMAD and VLC for years though. I finally did my first 4 day fast last week and felt great. Now, I plan was to continue with ADF. However, I seem to find that more difficult than the 4 day fast I did. So… my question is does anyone find it easier to do longer fasts versus the every other day? I think I might try this more often instead.

Thanks for your feedback! I am just trying to find the right fasting style that works for me and my body.

I just have a feeling that I can go longer without and then eat versus trying to manage it every other day.

Thoughts?

I’ve done ADF from September until Christmas losing 2 stone; I found it not too hard to do as knowing you could eat more the next day would help me manage FDs. Doing ADF is tricky over weekends though, so would occasionally have a weekend off, recently I’ve started fasting 3 days a week; Mon, Weds & Fri so I can relax a little a weekends, I’m near my goal weight & am now a healthy BMI. Personally, if I did 3 or 4 days in a row, then I think I’d overeat the next few days & would probably undo any good I’d done, I like the ADF way better, but we’re all different, so whatever works for you!

Hi Michele:

It depends on what you are after. If you want to lose weight, then ADF would probably be the best. If you want the ‘other health benefits’ that can be enjoyed from fasting, then monthly four day water fasts will fill the bill.

You might check ‘The Longevity Diet’ by Valter Longo for information on four day fasts.

Good Luck!

Hi there