Too much weight loss and calorie restriction

Welcome to The Fast Diet The official Fast forums Body Weight loss
Too much weight loss and calorie restriction

This topic contains 5 replies, has 5 voices, and was last updated by  onlinepillmart 9 years, 5 months ago.

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)

• Hello All. I’m new to the 5:2 and the forum. I wanted some advice for me (and him indoors) Neither of us are carrying any extra weight. He is 5’11” and was 75kg but is now 72kg. I am 5’7″ and 55kg. My husband is trying to fast 6:1 but is losing weight as you can see. I have been much thinner than I am now but looked skeletal and it’s not something I want again. Really we want the health benefits but not the weight loss. My thoughts, after reading the book, are that we are probably best to fast overnight until approx 11 am but then resume a normal diet for the rest of the day. We’d get the fast period and fewer calories as we break the fast with porridge at 11am then eat a normal tea. We both eat a healthy diet and exercise fairly regularly. (He’s much more regular at it than I am!)I guess I’m looking for reassurance that this is the right thing to do! Your thoughts are welcome.

Hi Milesy,

A lot of queries slip through the cracks here so I am chipping in with my unqualified take on your query. 6:1 would mean eating about 500 cals on the fast day for women and 600 for men.
    I am no expert just a member here, however what came to mind when I read your post was that you could possibly up your calorie intake on your other 6 days with healthy fats, which are now shown to be actually good for you and have many health benefits in fact. Not sure if you are my generation but those of us who listened to the previous decades advice got misdirected. Many of my friends who are underweight or struggling not to lose weight are on still on low fat diets. And what is a healthy diet is still under debate, changing rapidly.