How do fasting day food choices affect IGF-1 reduction

Welcome to The Fast Diet The official Fast forums Body Science of intermittent fasting
How do fasting day food choices affect IGF-1 reduction

This topic contains 64 replies, has 27 voices, and was last updated by  Gaswoman 9 years, 6 months ago.

Viewing 50 posts - 1 through 50 (of 65 total)

• I’ve been doing 6:1 fasting for four months now.
    I chose 6:1 to avoid losing weight.
    I had blood tests on my first ever fasting day and had IGF-1 of 103ug/L (13.36 nmol/L). The lab results suggested the suitable range was 75 to 263ug/L.
    For 4 months I have fasted every Monday, by eating 40 grams of raw almonds and a raw tomato for lunch (<300kcal) at 1:30PM, and then 70 grams of porridge oats boiled in water (also less than 300kcal) for dinner, straight after burning about 230kcal on the Exercycle.

My IGF-1 level is now slightly HIGHER, at 106ug/L.

I am wondering if my choice of food when fasting is affecting my IGF-1 levels, and how I should change my routine to achieve a lowering of IGF-1, since my understanding is that many of the health benefits from this diet that do not come from achieving a healthy body weight, come from lowering IGF-1 levels, or at least are accompanied by lower levels of IGF-1.

Hi, it is probably not your fasting day diet that increases IGF-1 but your overall protein intake through the week as a whole.

Keep protein intake to 0.8g per KG bodyweight and it should drop.

Thanks for responding Jono, but your answer leaves me perplexed.

If, as I understand it, most of the non weight-loss benefits of fasting come from lowering IGF-1 levels, and IGF-1 levels are mostly controlled by overall protein intake over the week, then WHY am I going hungry every Monday?

Would I be better off just moderating my protein intake and eating 7 days a week?