Help! I'm just hungry.

This topic contains 47 replies, has 31 voices, and was last updated by  Qsue 8 years ago.

Viewing 48 posts - 1 through 48 (of 48 total)

• I’m new to the 5:2 diet and my main problem so far is… hunger.

It’s 8pm and today I have only had liquids, mainly green tea. But now the hunger pangs are really kicking in. Similar to some of the other posters I’ve read, I find that when I’m restricting my intake, even a small amount of food sets the rumbles off.

Do you guys have any advice or any tips for staving off the hunger? I think that my main problem in the mental side of hunger because if I can distract my mind from food then I don’t find it as hard. Do you have any advice for avoiding hunger?

Atlas- you can have 500 calories (women) 600 calories (men) on your fast day. So if you’ve been fasting all day, and haven’t eaten since yesterday evening, now’s the time to eat!!

hi atlas, i feel your pain. i’ve only made it through a couple of days at 500 cal.
    i’m happy for but extra jealous of those who shrug and say this is just so easy for them. i’m not one of them.
    fortunately there are other posts with suggestions. for me, the only thing that got me through the last fast day is that i ended up so busy at work i couldn’t think about eating.
    good luck. if you find something that works for you, post it – i’ll take any advice you may have!

hello,
    i was very hungry on my fast days when i first started this plan, it was such a shock to my tummy, i had headaches and hunger prangs, it does get better as you keep at it, i never eat breakfast so just had a light lunch and evening meal, i still have mine at about 4.30 pm and that sees me through to the next day.
    keeping busy has been the key for me. xx

I am hungry right now (4:06 pm on a fast day). But I find it helps if you remember that hunger pangs seem to come and go. It’s not going to get worse and worse and worse — in a little while, I won’t feel quite as hungry.